Fiji Entry Requirements: Passports and Visas

Those who plan on visiting Fiji should know about passport and visa requirements prior to their trip to avoid any trouble and stress resulting from not having the appropriate items.

Do I need a passport to visit Fiji?

passportA passport is necessary for everyone entering Fiji. The passport has to be valid at least three months beyond the intended date of departure from Fiji. However, it is recommended that travelers have a passport that is valid for six months beyond the date of departure.

Most countries, including Fiji, also require that you have blank pages in your passport with an adequate amount of space for the necessary stamps that you may need when entering or departing the country. It is recommended that you have at least two free pages in the visas section of your passport before traveling to any international country.

Do I need a visa to visit Fiji?

Visas are not required for visitors from 101 countries, such as North America, Western Europe, Japan, Israel and most Commonwealth countries (see complete list of visa-exempt countries below*). Visitors from visa-exempt countries may stay up to four months. A two-month extension is possible, but one has to apply for it before the initial four months are up and there is a fee. Visitors are required to have a valid returning airline ticket with them when entering the country.

Also, if you have connecting flights overseas as part of your trip to Fiji, you may need a separate transit visa for some of the countries that you need to pass through to arrive at your destination.

*List of visa-exempt countries

Nationals of the following countries are NOT required to obtain a visa before entering Fiji as visitors:

Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, The Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Cook Islands [NZ passport holder], Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Commonwealth Dominica, Estonia, Federated States of Micronesia, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guyana, Holy See (Vatican), Hong Kong [SAR], Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Kiribati, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lesotho, Luxemburg, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Nauru, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, The Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Romania, Russia, Samoa, Serbia, Slovak Republic, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & The Grenadines, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, United Kingdom and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Zambia and Zimbabwe.